Shannara Book Series Statistics

  • It can be estimated that the Shannara series has sold around 37 million copies worldwide.
  • The series’ author, Terry Brooks, has sold 50 million book copies with Shannara representing over 73.68% of his publications.
  • The first Shannara title, The Sword of Shannara (1977), took Terry Brooks 7 years to write.
  • Its editor, Lester Del Rey, asked Brooks to rewrite some parts of the title multiple times, even threatening to write the ending himself if Brooks did not prove capable.
  • Once launched, the debut novel sold around 125,000 copies during its first year, which gave the fantasy genre a major boost.
  • Signed first editions of the entire Original Shannara trilogy are valued from $3,000 to $5,000.
  • In 2021, Terry Brooks began a kickstarter campaign for the 30th anniversary of The Heritage of Shannara series, which raised over $222,000 with over 1,000 backers.
  • Special edition book packages available after the success of the campaign range from $50 upwards to $2,000.
  • The Shannara Chronicles was a TV adaptation of the book series, released on MTV and Spike between 2016 and 2017.
  • However, the adaptation was cancelled after two seasons, failing to achieve the popularity of the book series.

Shannara books in order

  • As of 2023, there are at least 42 Shannara book titles.
  • This includes:
    • 1977 – 1985: Original Shannara Trilogy (3 titles)
    • 1990 – 1993: Heritage of Shannara (4 titles)
    • 1996 – 1996: Prelude to the Original Shannara Trilogy (1 title)
    • 1997 – 1999: Word & Void (3 titles)
    • 2000 – 2002: The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2003 – 2005: High Druid of Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2006 – 2008: The Genesis of Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2010 – 2011: Legends of Shannara (2 titles)
    • 2012 – 2013: Paladins of Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2012 – 2013: The Dark Legacy of Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2014 – 2016: The Defenders of Shannara (3 titles)
    • 2017 – 2020: The Fall of Shannara (4 titles)
    • 2001 – 2021: Related Shannara titles (7 titles)
  • The first Shannara publication was The Sword of Shannara (1977).
  • The most recent Shannara publication was Small Magic: Short Fiction, 1977-2020 (2021).
  • A final set of Shannara titles are being produced to bring the series to an end.
#Date publishedTitleSeries typePage countAudiobook length
1January 1977The Sword of ShannaraOriginal Shannara Trilogy72626h21m
2July 1982The Elfstones of ShannaraOriginal Shannara Trilogy57623h8m
3April 1985The Wishsong of ShannaraOriginal Shannara Trilogy46720h38m
4March 1990The Scions of ShannaraHeritage of Shannara41917h45m
5March 1991The Druid of ShannaraHeritage of Shannara42316h9m
6March 1992The Elf Queen of ShannaraHeritage of Shannara40315h30m
7March 1993The Talismans of ShannaraHeritage of Shannara45316h51m
8March 1996First King of ShannaraPrelude to the Original Shannara Trilogy48919h15m
9August 1997Running with the DemonWord & Void42016h33m
10July 1998A Knight of the WordWord & Void35211h34m
11October 1999Angel Fire EastWord & Void35213h16m
12September 2000Ilse WitchThe Voyage of the Jerle Shannara46417h39m
13September 2001AntraxThe Voyage of the Jerle Shannara37513h46m
14October 2001The World of ShannaraRelated Shannara title206N/A
15September 2002MorgawrThe Voyage of the Jerle Shannara40115h
16August 2003Jarka RuusHigh Druid of Shannara41612h18m
17November 2003IndomitableRelated Shannara title96N/A
18August 2004TanequilHigh Druid of Shannara36813h43m
19September 2005StrakenHigh Druid of Shannara38415h21m
20August 2006Armageddon’s ChildrenThe Genesis of Shannara38413h33m
21August 2007The Elves of CintraThe Genesis of Shannara37913h5m
22January 2008Dark Wraith of ShannaraRelated Shannara title208N/A
23August 2008The Gypsy MorphThe Genesis of Shannara40214h44m
24August 2010Bearers of the Black StaffLegends of Shannara35313h28m
25August 2011The Measure of the MagicLegends of Shannara38314h18m
26October 2011Imaginary FriendsRelated Shannara title30N/A
27July 2012Allanon’s QuestPaladins of Shannara4019h15m
28August 2012Wards of FaerieThe Dark Legacy of Shannara38414h24m
29January 2013The Weapon Master’s ChoicePaladins of Shannara39N/A
30March 2013Bloodfire QuestThe Dark Legacy of Shannara36812h56m
31June 2013The Black IrixPaladins of Shannara42N/A
32June 2013Walker and the Shade of AllanonRelated Shannara titleN/AN/A
33July 2013Witch WraithThe Dark Legacy of Shannara43215h40m
34March 2014The High Druid’s BladeThe Defenders of Shannara30510h20m
35June 2015The Darkling ChildThe Defenders of Shannara30010h3m
36May 2016The Sorcerer’s DaughterThe Defenders of Shannara33411h17m
37June 2017The Black ElfstoneThe Fall of Shannara31810h37m
38May 2018The Skaar InvasionThe Fall of Shannara47412h42m
39September 2018WarriorRelated Shannara title102N/A
40May 2019The Stiehl AssassinThe Fall of Shannara33711h29m
41October 2020The Last DruidThe Fall of Shannara44815h5m
42March 2021Small Magic: Short Fiction, 1977-2020Related Shannara title464N/A

Shannara FAQ

What order to read Shannara?

  • For new readers, the Shannara recommended reading order from author Terry Brooks is as follows:
  1. The Sword of Shannara
  2. The Elfstones of Shannara
  3. Aftermath (short story in Small Magic)
  4. The Wishsong of Shannara
  5. Indomitable
  6. Dark Wraith of Shannara
  7. The Scions of Shannara
  8. The Druid of Shannara
  9. The Elf Queen of Shannara
  10. The Talismans of Shannara
  11. The Last Ride (short story in Small Magic)
  12. First King of Shannara
  13. Ilse Witch
  14. Antrax
  15. Morgawr
  16. Jarka Ruus
  17. Tanequil
  18. Straken
  19. Armageddon’s Children
  20. The Elves of Cintra
  21. The Gypsy Morph
  22. Bearers of the Black Staff
  23. The Measure of the Magic
  24. Wards of Faerie
  25. Bloodfire Quest
  26. Witch Wraith
  27. Allanon’s Quest
  28. The Weapons Master’s Choice
  29. The Black Irix
  30. The High Druid’s Blade
  31. The Darkling Child
  32. The Sorcerer’s Daughter
  33. The Black Elfstone
  34. The Skaar Invasion
  35. The Stiehl Assassin
  36. The Last Druid
  • To avoid spoilers, reading the Shannara titles in the chronological order of events is only recommended to revising readers.

Where is Shannara?

  • The Shannara series takes place in the post-apocalyptic setting of the Four Lands.
  • The Four Lands exist within the modern Pacific Northwest and still feature certain landmarks, despite having been affected by The Great Wars.
  • Instead of being based in a separate realm, the world is designed to be the same as our own, although set in the future.