Bridgerton Book Series Statistics

  • In the US alone, 17 million Bridgerton book copies have been sold as of 2023.
  • After the release of Bridgerton on Netflix (Christmas Day 2020), it reached 82 million households in its first 28 days and was also the #1 show in 76 countries.
  • Book demand skyrocketed, drastically limiting supply and increasing the cost of available copies.
  • Original hardcovers of the series were on sale with prices as high as $800.
  • By March 2021, each of the eight main Bridgerton novels were present on the New York Times list simultaneously, which was a record for an adult fiction author.
  • The producer of the Netflix series, Shonda Rhimes, only happened to stumble upon the series when running out of books to read on vacation.
  • The chance occurrence has had a significant impact on the continued success of the Bridgerton franchise.  
  • 8 books make up the main series of Bridgerton, with each book focusing on specific characters.
  • As of 2023, a total of 18 official books have been released within the Bridgerton franchise, the latest being Queen Charlotte.
  • As of 2022, Bridgerton’s author Julia Quinn had a net worth of $10 million.
  • It has been estimated that her success through Bridgerton accounts for over 50% of her net worth ($5 million+).

Bridgerton books in order

  • As of 2023, 18 books have been released within the Bridgerton World.
  • This is made up of:
    • Main series: 8 books
    • Second epilogue: 1 book
    • Prequels: 4 books
    • Anthologies: 2
    • Collaborations: 1
    • Graphic novels: 1
    • Gift books: 1
  • The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After is sometimes referred to as the series’ 9th book, following on from the main series.
  • Bridgerton prequel titles are also known as The Rokesby Series.
Year publishedBook titleCategoryOriginal publisherPage countAudiobook length
2000The Duke and IBridgerton (main) Avon48012h 9m
2000The Viscount Who Loved MeBridgerton (main)Avon48012h 23m
2001An Offer from a GentlemanBridgerton (main)Avon47412h 22m
2002Romancing Mister BridgertonBridgerton (main)Avon49613h 17m
2003The Further Observations of Lady WhistledownBridgerton (anthology)Avon400N/A
2003To Sir Phillip, With LoveBridgerton (main)Avon41611h 10m
2004Lady Whistledown Strikes BackBridgerton (anthology)Avon400N/A
2004When He Was WickedBridgerton (main)Avon46411h 29m
2005It’s In His KissBridgerton (main)Avon44811h 11m
2006On the Way to the WeddingBridgerton (main)Avon49613h
2013The Bridgertons: Happily Ever AfterBridgerton (second epilogues)Avon3848h 1m
2016Because of Miss BridgertonBridgerton (prequels)Avon3849h 25m
2017The Girl with the Make-Believe HusbandBridgerton (prequels)Avon40010h 14m
2018The Other Miss BridgertonBridgerton (prequels)Avon39610h 18m
2020First Comes ScandalBridgerton (prequels)Avon3799h 6m
2021The Wit and Wisdom of BridgertonBridgerton (gift book)Avon2082h 50m
2022Miss Butterworth and the Mad BaronBridgerton (graphic novel)William Morrow Paperbacks160N/A
2023Queen CharlotteBridgerton (collaboration)Avon35212h 23m

Bridgerton popularity over time

  • As of 2023, Bridgerton’s maximum popularity is 2.56 times lower than the previous year.
  • For the given data, Bridgerton was at its most popular during 2022.
  • Since the release of Bridgerton on Netflix, the series’ overall popularity* has soared.
  • Its maximum popularity jumped 92 times higher than in 2019 after its first season in 2020.
YearAverage popularityMax. popularity
(Data less than 1.0 rounded to 1.0)

A graph is given below to show the popularity of Bridgerton over time:

*Popularity data from Google trends

Bridgerton Books FAQ

How many Bridgerton books are there?

  • As of 2023, there are 8 main Bridgerton books.
  • However, including all books within the Bridgerton world, there are a total of 18 official books.

What is the order of the Bridgerton books?

Main series

  1. The Duke and I 
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me 
  3. An Offer From A Gentleman
  4. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton 
  5. To Sir Phillip, With Love 
  6. When He Was Wicked 
  7. It’s In His Kiss
  8. On The Way to the Wedding


  1. Because of Miss Bridgerton
  2. The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband
  3. The Other Miss Bridgerton
  4. First Comes Scandal

Other books

Although there are a number of additional books contained within the Bridgerton World, they are not listed as having a sequence.

Who is each Bridgerton book about?

  • The Duke and I: Daphne 
  • The Viscount Who Loved Me: Anthony 
  • An Offer From A Gentleman: Benedict
  • Romancing Mr. Bridgerton: Penelope and Colin
  • To Sir Phillip, With Love: Eloise
  • When He Was Wicked: Francesca 
  • It’s In His Kiss: Hyacinth 
  • On The Way to the Wedding: Gregory

Are the Bridgerton books spicy?

The Bridgerton series of books are well-known for having steamy and romantic storylines, although the frequency/type of intimate moments can vary between each book. Overall, the series explores the adventures of the Bridgerton family and friends, including their relationships, during Regency-era England.