The Chronicles of Narnia Book Series Statistics

  • Since its first publication, over 120 million copies of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis have been sold worldwide.
  • It has been estimated that the book series’ author sold over 200 million copies of his books in total.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia accounts for around 60% of his total book sales.
  • C.S Lewis took over 8 years to write the Narnia book series but just 3 months to write its first published title, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.
  • After C.S Lewis’ death, he left his estate to his brother Warren and it was later passed on to Lewis’ two step-sons.
  • One of his step-sons, Douglas Gresham, was also involved as a co-producer for Narnia’s film series (2005-2010).
  • The film adaptations of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005), Prince Caspian (2008) The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010) had a combined budget of $560 million and grossed over $1.58 billion worldwide.
  • Although there were initially plans to continue the series, in late 2018 Netflix and the C. S. Lewis Company made an agreement to develop a new series of film and TV adaptations of The Chronicles of Narnia.
  • It is estimated that Netflix paid slightly under $250 million for the rights to all of the Narnia books for the series.
  • In 2021, a complete set of first-edition Narnia books in very good condition was sold for £48,000 ($65,760).

The Chronicles of Narnia books in order

  • There are a total of seven books within The Chronicles of Narnia book series.
  • The series was published between 1950 and 1956.
    • The first 5 books released in the series were originally published by Geoffrey Bles.
    • The last 2 books released in the series were originally published by The Bodley Head.
    • As of 2023, the entire series is published by HarperCollins.
  • The 6th Narnia publication, The Magician’s Nephew, was possibly the most difficult for C.S. Lewis to write.
  • Whereas the other Narnia books were written between 1948 and 1953, The Magician’s Nephew was written over 5-years with breaks in its progress, between  1949 and 1954.
  • All of the books in the series were illustrated by Pauline Baynes, who also worked alongside J. R. R. Tolkien.
  • She sold her work for a flat fee of £100 ($369) per book at the time to Lewis’ publishers instead of negotiating a royalties deal which could have made her a significantly higher level of income.
#Date publishedTitleOriginal publisherPage countAudiobook length
116 October,  1950The Lion, the Witch and the WardrobeGeoffrey Bles1724h 21m
215 October,  1951Prince CaspianGeoffrey Bles1954h 40m
315 September,  1952The Voyage of the Dawn TreaderGeoffrey Bles2235h 50m
47 September,  1953The Silver ChairGeoffrey Bles2175h 25m
56 September,  1954The Horse and His BoyGeoffrey Bles1994h 41m
62 May, 1955The Magician’s NephewThe Bodley Head1833h 57m
74 September, 1956The Last BattleThe Bodley Head1844h 49m

The Chronicles of Narnia FAQ

Who wrote Narnia?

  • The Chronicles of Narnia book series was written by C.S. Lewis.

When was Narnia written?

  • The Chronicles of Narnia was written between the years of 1948 and 1954.
  • However, the series was published between the years of 1950 and 1956

How many Narnia books are there?

  • There are seven Narnia books in total.

What is the Chronicles of Narnia about?

  • The Chronicles of Narnia is a fantasy series about a magical land called Narnia.
  • The land contains breathtaking landscapes alongside animals that can talk and other mythical creatures. 
  • One of the key themes of the series is an ongoing battle between the powers of good and evil.
  • Aslan often represents goodness as a noble and powerful lion.
  • This is contrasted by the White Witch who represents evil as a sorceress that strives to control the land.

What order to read Chronicles of Narnia?

  • There are two principle reading orders for the Chronicles of Narnia.
  • Publication order was the original standard. Its order is as follows:
  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  2. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  4. The Silver Chair
  5. The Horse and His Boy
  6. The Magician’s Nephew
  7. The Last Battle
  • Chronological order became popular after the death of C.S: Lewis. Its order is as follows:
  1. The Magician’s Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle
  • Typically, American editions have used publication order whilst British editions used chronological order.
  • C.S. Lewis had suggested in a 1957 letter that the reading order of the series does not have great significance.
  • However in general, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is considered to be the best book to read first by both fans and scholars of the series.