Malazan Book of the Fallen Book Series Statistics

  • The Malazan Book of the Fallen book series, written by Steven Erikson, has sold more than 3 million copies.
  • The series reached a milestone of 1 million copies sold worldwide by 2012.
  • In 2006, 7 years after its release, the series had sold over 250,000 copies.
  • As of 2021, Novels of the Malazan Empire (supplemental series) and Path to Ascendancy (prequel series) by Ian C. Esslemont surpassed 1 million copies sold.
  • Originally, The Malazan World was created by Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslemont in the 1980s as the setting for an RPG (role-playing game).
  • The first book in the series, Gardens of the Moon, was initially intended to be a movie script but ended up becoming a novel.
  • Although the book was initially written in 1991, Transworld (a division of Random House) did not purchase the book until the late 1990s.
  • Following its publication, Orion Publications attempted to tempt Erikson away from Transworld (who already had an option on additional novels in the series).
  • This led to a re-negotiation with Transworld, who eventually agreed to pay £675,000 ($1.09 million) for an additional 9 books in the series.
  • Malazan was almost optioned for TV by a major producer but after 6 months of waiting, the deal was canceled just before an agreement was reached.
  • Steven Erikson believes the deal would have led to legal troubles as the production company associated with the option purchase became bankrupt, possibly leading to the series being picked up by creditors.

Malazan Book of the Fallen Books in order

  • As of 2023, there are a total of 29 books in the entire Malazan Book of the Fallen series, which include:
    • Malazan Book of the Fallen: 10 books (novels)
    • Novels of the Malazan Empire: 6 books (novels)
    • The Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach: 7 books (novellas) 
    • The Kharkanas Trilogy: 2 books (novels)
    • Path to Ascendancy: 3 books (novels)
    • The Witness Trilogy: 1 book (novels)
  • Although the main series is made up of 10 books, there are also 19 associated titles including prequels, sequels, and content which runs simultaneously to the main storyline.
  • Malazan Book of the Fallen, The Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach, The Kharkanas Trilogy, and The Witness Trilogy are written by Steven Erikson.
  • Novels of the Malazan Empire and Path to Ascendancy are written by Ian C. Esslemont.
  • Upcoming titles in the series include Forge of the High Mage (Path to Ascendancy #4), Walk in Shadow (The Kharkanas Trilogy #3), and No Life Forsaken (The Witness Trilogy #2).
Date publishedTitleSeriesPublisherPage countAudiobook length
April, 1999Gardens of the MoonMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy68826h 3m
September, 2000Deadhouse GatesMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy86434h 5m
December, 2001Memories of IceMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy94443h 55m
April, 2002Blood FollowsThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing125N/A
December, 2002House of ChainsMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy104035h 5m
March, 2004Midnight TidesMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy96031h 4m
April, 2004The Healthy DeadThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing150N/A
September, 2004Night of KnivesNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books
3049h 57m
March, 2006The BonehuntersMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy123242h 1m
March, 2007The Lees Of Laughter’s EndThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing151N/A
May, 2007Reaper’s GaleMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy128043h 57m
June,  2008Toll The HoundsMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy129644h 1m
August, 2008Return of the Crimson GuardNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books72032h 8m
August,  2009Dust of DreamsMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy128043h 14m
December, 2009Crack’d Pot TrailThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing204N/A
November, 2010StonewielderNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books64026h 43m
February,  2011The Crippled GodMalazan Book of the FallenTor Fantasy120045h 21m
February,  2012Orb Sceptre ThroneNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books60825h 24m
June, 2012The Wurms of BlearmouthThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing208N/A
August,  2012Forge of DarknessThe Kharkanas TrilogyTor Books68831h 55m
November, 2012Blood and BoneNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books59226h 35m
August,  2014AssailNovels of the Malazan EmpireTor Books54422h 46m
February,  2016Dancer’s LamentPath to AscendancyTor Books41616h 49m
April,  2016Fall of LightThe Kharkanas TrilogyTor Books86444h 41m
July, 2016The Fiends of NightmariaThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing99N/A
November, 2017Deadhouse LandingPath to AscendancyTor Books40015h 38m
February, 2019Kellanved’s ReachPath to AscendancyTor Books35213h 7m
July, 2021The God is Not WillingThe Witness TrilogyTor Fantasy64023h 13m
November, 2021Upon a Dark of Evil OverlordsThe Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal BroachPS Publishing88N/A

Malazan FAQ

How many Malazan books are there?

  • As of 2023, there are a total of 29 books in the entire Malazan Book of the Fallen series, which includes the main series, prequels, sequels, and additional content.
  • However, further titles are in the works to expand the series.

What order to read Malazan books?

  • The authors of the series (Steven Erikson and Ian Cameron Esslemont) have previously mentioned that the recommended reading order is to read the titles in their order of publication, especially for first-time readers of the series.

What is the first Steven Erikson Book of Malazan?

  • The first book published of Steven Erikson’s Malazan Book of the Fallen series was Gardens of the Moon (1999).